Deleting multiple snapshots ReadyNAS (ReadyNAS OS 6)

Important note: deleting snapshots is resource intensive, I would definitely not recommend deleting 50 snapshots at once using this method. I don’t know what an upper limit would be but personally I’d delete a maximum of 15 at the time, then wait a minute or so before moving on the next 15. If you’re uncertain or if your snapshot deletion for some reason is not working I’d recommend contacting Netgear support.

I see a lot of people asking how to more efficiently delete snapshots from their ReadyNAS, I also think this demand will increase with the release of ReadyNAS 6.4.0 in which you will finally be able to see how much space is being used up by snapshots.

I googled a bit and all guides/instructions I could find only showed how to delete snapshots one by one, now that’s fine if you only have a couple of snapshots to delete but what about if you have 50? Deleting snapshots is slow and deleting 50 of them one by one would take an incredible amount of time! Luckily there’s a better way to delete snapshots that you don’t need, a way that will allow you to delete more than one at the time! Here’s how (tl;dr .gif version: here):

For this scenario I’m running ReadyNAS OS 6.4.0 BETA 6 but the same steps apply to older firmwares down to at least 6.2.0 and very likely even further back (Why would you run an older firmware though? Go, update now!).

In this example we have a share called "serverimages", there are 10 snapshots that I want to get rid off.
As you can see there are 10 snapshots, I want to get rid of them all

In this scenario I have a share called “serverimages”, there are 10 snapshots and I want to delete them all. So I start off by clicking the share and then “Recover”

recover

This brings up a full list of all snapshots on that share:

A list of all snapshots of this share
A list of all snapshots of this share

You can now delete a single snapshot by right-clicking it and then “Delete”, but that’s not the purpose of this guide… We want to  be more efficient and delete several snapshots at once. To do so start by Left-click the first snapshot, hold down your shift button, click the last snapshot and then right click and “delete”

Clicking delete will delete all marked snapshots
Clicking delete will delete all marked snapshots

And that’s it, your share is now snapshot free!

.gif animation showing the steps above:

Deleting multiple snapshots at once
Deleting multiple snapshots at once